Summer Review



I'm not really a gamer, and I'm not claiming to be one. I grew up like any other active child should-- playing games outside, exploring the neighborhood, and trying to make the things our imaginations cooked turn to reality-- but everything changed when my college years started...

Okay, enough with the melodramatic part. I just couldn't think of a good introduction so I wrote “that” up there [oh yes, I'm talking about the first paragraph]. Anyway, since the new school term will start in a few weeks, I decided to do a summer review-- just random things I did these past two months (and it really has something to do with the introduction).


The month of April was spent doing some moving and tidying up things in my room. I decided to move to the other side, the one my roommate vacated after she left to finish her research [she's studying Marine Science and apparently her adviser turned down her thesis since the data she gathered was “insufficient” to save the coral reefs in the planet (just kidding in the last part)]. A lot of my things were deemed “no longer usable” and thrown off so the room somehow cleared off of clutter. I'm not a hoarder by the way, and I believe my untidiness level goes just below half of Nodame's [if you don't know the name, watch/read the first episode/manga of Nodame no Cantabile]. Anyway, going back, I also spent a lot of time doing the laundry. I used to just send all my dirty [not really] clothes to the cleaners but since I'm saving up, I decided to do the job on my own... and I preferred the “hand wash method,” so you can just imagine how my beautiful hands suffered [and no, I'm not vain].

May came, bidding my era of spring cleaning goodbye. I went back to hikikomori mode and I became happy. Just when everything was going well, a friend invited me to a sleepover [not really a bad thing, it's just... I'm too lazy to go out of my room]. But that friend's dad cooks well, so the want of not missing a chance to taste a good home-cooked meal won over the want of being forever alone. Accepting the invitation was inevitable... and I spent a week's amount of time staying over. Also within that week, I was able to watch The Avengers thrice (two of that in 3D). A real recluse, indeed.

The week of sleepover at Dabz (the good friend), was spent for naught. I was pretty productive for a hikikomori (who prefered to stay in someone else's house). In the first three days, I learned to play Funny Bunny by The Pillows in the bass guitar-- which has always been a goal, alongside with learning how to fold S-level origami for my Bossun [Sket Dance] cosplay. The fourth day, I tried playing Soul Cal V and was able to make a fabulous character [male, with Lei Xia's move set and sounds like Twenty of Milky Holmes] so I somehow liked the game. And the rest of the week was for movie and anime marathon. I was able to catch up with the recent episodes of Tsuritama, Zetman and Area no Kishi and rewatch No.6... and also a lot of movies-- Billy Madison, Sherlock Holmes (one and two), The Three Musketeers, Hugo, Step Brothers, Green Hornet, The Secret Garden were viewed. Since the weekend after that was Kookie's (the cool older sister of the good friend's) birthday, their family decided to spend it in Singapore so I had to go back to my room... and thus, the real hikikomori mode began...

The following statements may contain spoilers not to your liking. Proceed with caution.

Love Revo era: [Reign of terror in my life: Two H.D. (H.D.= Hikikomori Day)]
I got the patched version (thanks to greyrook) and started the game immediately. It was pretty amusing at first and I thought I won't get hooked considering that I prefer Konami's style when it comes to otome games but then, after two failed attempts of getting the guy I want, I started to grow fangs and breathe fire-- desperate, in short. The good thing about the game is, first, it has self-centered, or selfish, or vain, or whatever you want to call it character-- you deal with yourself first [in Gabriel Iglesia's term, from “fluffy” you in the game to a totally different, loli character later] before you deal with the guys. You only get to date them if you've lost enough kilos or if you spam the Q.S. and the Q.L buttons-- the second likable thing in Love Revo. Q.S. stands for Quick Save while Q.L. Stands for Quick Load. In case you plan to play the game, don't forget to hit save button before you exit the game as the data stored in the Q.S. option is just temporary. On my third play through, I was able to secure a good ending in Masaki's route-- with all the blood shed and drama-- and the road to the secret ending is flashing on the screen. Since desperate times call for desperate measures, I was able to know the keywords needed to get the ending through a walk through. But lo, and behold, even the keywords were translated, and the ones I know are in Japanese. In comes my translating powers. [Keitai] is [phone]... and [kurisuti] is OH-MY-GAH-I-DON'T-KNOW Christ? Christie? Christian? I skipped that and decided to translate the third keyword [kasumisou] which is [baby's-breath] and OHMYMOTHERFAGGINGGAHTHEBLANKSLOTSARENOTENOUGH. I tried different approaches but all were in vain, and until now, I haven't seen the beautiful ending of my dear Masaki's route. I got so depressed and frustrated after that I decided to end the Love Revo era.

Love Plus era: [Reign of terror in my life: One H.D.]
I got Manaka in my first play through ages ago and I decided to start anew and go for Rinko. I'm not lesbian or anything, but Rinko's just too cute that I found myself fangirling whenever I got her CG scene. I was pretty DS in love and dedicated and after 56 Love Plus days, I got a confession from her and it became a commitment. Well, not really. I just got more depressed after that, considering that I, who has never had a commitment to anybody from the opposite sex in the twenty years of my existence be committed to a pixel-form... and a female to boot. Another lost time but I needed to move on, so another game was started.

Suikoden Tierkreis era: [Reign of terror in my life: Five H.D]
It was my first time to play a Suikoden game and I was pretty impressed. The story is good and even the characters are pretty diverse [we're talking about a Suikoden game here, so no wonder]. I got a lot of favorites characters (e.g. Nhazu, Taj, Buchse, etc.) and I got addicted to trading that I spent most of my play time listing the trade prices of each item of different cities and using the guide to get more money. I decided to finish the game without consulting any walk through available by the way, so good luck with the coming days [I haven't finished playing the game yet as I'm writing this and I think I'll do another post, game exclusive, once I finish]. I got stuck in the Snow Fairy mission for a time that I decided to play another game [and just a friendly reminder for the would-be players, don't bring Dogha with you when you look for her on the third time; I did that thinking I'll finish the mission fast but no, I just wasted a lot of time going up and down Ch'olui Mountain]. I just thought that if I change my perspective, I'd be able to find an answer... which was definitely a weird idea but well, it worked for me.

SMT DS/ Devil Survivor era: [Reign of terror in my life: Two H.D]
Second attempt in playing an SMT game, the first one was P3 which I dared not finish, and this time, I got hooked (just like what happened with the previous game). The story evolves over the use of COMPs (which are technically NDSs) to summon demons and save the world. Collecting Macca [going into battles] to buy and pay for bids is the most fun part, just cross out the annoying demons that uses +Mute that comes with it. The fusion part is fun too; no walk through or game guides for this so everything that I get through fusion is just out of luck. I stopped playing when I was about to battle Beldr though; since the original plan was to play SMT DS just to distract myself from Suikoden for a while and finish the latter first.

And the Suikoden era reigned again....

I'm still in hikikomori mode at the moment I'm writing this and getting out of it is still my last option. But maybe, just maybe, I get to spend another night at Dabz's soon (thus the long earned H.D. Combo will be broken). I guess I've said too much? I'm pretty tired so this is it for now.

Post a Comment

• Video Of The Month •


スピッツ [SPITZ]/ 空も飛べるはず [Sora Mo Toberu Hazu]